--- title: "What is the difference between deleting and disabling a widget" slug: "what-is-the-difference-between-deleting-and-disabling-a-widget" updated: 2026-08-11T14:13:21Z published: 2026-08-11T14:13:21Z canonical: "support.whatfix.com/what-is-the-difference-between-deleting-and-disabling-a-widget" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://support.whatfix.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # What is the difference between deleting and disabling a widget | **Disabling a Widget** | **Deleting a widget** | | --- | --- | | Disabling a widget means you can reactivate it any time later. The associated content and Visibility Rules remain intact. For more information, see [How to activate or inactivate Whatfix widgets?](/studio/docs/how-to-activate-or-inactivate-whatfix-widgets) | Deleting a widget removes it from the account permanently. This action is irreversible. **Note**: - You can only delete Whatfix content and widgets in the Draft and Ready stages. - When a copy of your content in Draft or Ready also exists in Production, deleting the Draft or Ready version does not affect the content in Production. Info: Analytics data for the deleted widget is not removed and is labeled as DELETED in Analytics. | ## Related - [Content or Widgets are Hidden behind Application Elements](/widgets-hidden-behind-application-elements.md) - [Do widget occurrences get exhausted if you preview the widget?](/do-widget-occurrences-get-exhausted-if-you-preview-them.md)