--- title: "Whatfix User Roles" slug: "whatfix-user-roles" updated: 2026-08-10T21:18:57Z published: 2026-08-10T21:18:57Z canonical: "support.whatfix.com/whatfix-user-roles" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://support.whatfix.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Whatfix User Roles The first user role which is created in an account automatically becomes the **Account Manager** (admin). An Account Manager can invite teammates and assign their roles on the Whatfix Dashboard. For more information, see [Understand Teammates](/studio/docs/add-new-users). ### Responsibilities specific to each role ![](https://cdn.document360.io/a268766e-d74d-4619-9613-e2472f809ffb/Images/Documentation/Translator-%20User%20role(2).png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-12T07%3A25%3A22Z&se=2026-11-12T08%3A25%3A22Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=aOiY7CdvZ0v5yJOd%2B6MNH27S7606UaPWqV1TKEwzVi0%3D) --- ### Comparative view of accessibility or permissions each role has The following table lists the permissions associated with each type of user role: > [!NOTE] > Info: > > - Whatfix Content includes Flows, Articles, Links, Images, Videos, and PDFs. > - Whatfix Widgets include Pop ups, Self Help, Task Lists, Beacons, Smart Tips, Surveys, and Launchers. > - Editors can only perform the following actions on their own content. > [!WARNING] > Note: > > The following permissions are provided for your understanding to show how each Whatfix User Role functions. These permissions describe role-level behavior and are not configurable at the individual Role level. For example, every user assigned the **Editor** role can create and edit their own content, but they cannot publish it. To give a specific **Editor** the ability to publish, you need to change their user role to Account Manager rather than adjusting their individual permissions. > > > > However, if you want to give a teammate specific permissions, see [Use Custom Roles on Whatfix Dashboard](/studio/docs/use-custom-roles). For example, every user assigned the **Content Manager** role can create and edit content. To give a specific **Content Manager** publishing access, you can use Custom roles rather than changing their role to Account Manager. | Permission | Translator | Editor | Content Manager | Account Manager | | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | | Auto Translate or Translate Content | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | | Auto Test Content | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | | Create Whatfix Content | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | | Create User Actions | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | | Create Tags | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | | Delete Self-Created Content | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | | Edit or Delete Self-Created Tags | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | | Get Flow Failure Notification | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | | Move Self-Created Content from Draft to Ready Stage | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | | Move Self-Created Content back from Ready to Draft Stage | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | | Preview Mode | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | | Access Guidance analytics | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | | View Archived content | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | | Archive content | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | | Bulk archive content | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | | Restore Archived content | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | | Delete Archived content | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | | Copy Archived content | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | | Move Other Users' Content from Draft to Ready Stage | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Move Widgets from Draft to Ready Stage | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Move Other Users' Content back from Ready to Draft Stage | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Move Widgets back from Ready to Draft Stage | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Access Whatfix Analytics (Product Analytics) dashboard | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Access Widgets | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Access Advanced Customization | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Add Domain filters in Guidance analytics | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Change Themes | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Configure Voiceovers | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Create Whatfix Widgets | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Create Insights | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Create Cohorts | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Create Dashboards | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Edit or Delete Others' Tags | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Edit or Delete Other Users' Content | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Export Flows | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Export Language Files | No | No | Yes | Yes | | View Archived widgets | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Archive widgets | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Bulk archive widgets | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Restore Archived widgets | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Delete Archived widgets | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Copy Archived widgets | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Add conditions in Map Stages for content deployment | No | No | Yes (Can add only the Ready stage condition) | Yes (Can add both the Ready and Production stage conditions) | | Change font | No | No | Yes | Yes | | Add or Invite Users | No | No | No | Yes | | Add or Delete Languages | No | No | No | Yes | | App Integrations | No | No | No | Yes | | Change User Role | No | No | No | Yes | | Delete a User | No | No | No | Yes | | Manage Extensions | No | No | No | Yes | | Move Content or Widgets from the Ready Stage to the Production Stage | No | No | No | Yes | | Move Content or Widgets back from the Production Stage to the Draft Stage | No | No | No | Yes | | Refresh Beacons | No | No | No | Yes | | Repository Integration | No | No | No | Yes | | Set Up Google Analytics | No | No | No | Yes |