Top
Uploading Whatfix videos to online video platform
  • 1 minute to read
  • Print
  • Dark
    Light

Uploading Whatfix videos to online video platform

  • Print
  • Dark
    Light

Whatfix walkthroughs can be uploaded as a video to your Youtube/Wistia/Vimeo account. This feature comes handy if you wish to create video demonstrations or tutorials of your application.

Note

You can also add audio narrations to the walkthrough videos. To know more, see Add audio to walkthrough videos.

Exporting videos to video platform in Whatfix is easy and automated. Once you authorize Whatfix access to your video platform account, the video will be automatically uploaded whenever the content is created.

To give Whatfix access to your video platform,

  1. Navigate to the Whatfix dashboard.
    gotoDashboard%20%282%29.png
  2. Click the Settings icon in the top right corner. 
    settings_icon.png
  3. Click Video Channel.
    click_video_channel
  4. Select the video platform. 
    select_video_channel_platform
  5. Select the video privacy level.
    select_video_channel_visibility
  6. Click Authorize.
    click_authorize_video_channel
  7. Click Allow in the respective video platform page to finish the integration. 
    youtube_authorize.png
  8. Once successfully integrated, walkthroughs that are already published automatically starts to upload. You can check the upload status in the Dashboard.
    track_flow_status_upload_video
Understand video uploading statuses

Status Description
waiting_in_queue Waiting in the queue for uploading
currently_uploading Currently uploading
uploaded_successfully Uploaded
failed_to_upload Failed to upload

Note
  • Your walkthroughs are not connected to the videos on the video platform. If you delete your walkthroughs or change the theme, it has no impact on the uploaded video.
  • If you edit a walkthrough and save the changes, a new updated video is created only after it's published. However, the old video remains in the respective video platform. You have to manually delete or unlist it.
  • When you translate a content, Whatfix uploads a new video for the translated content as soon as it is published.
  • If your video account is delinked from Whatfix, then any new walkthroughs created is not uploaded to the channel. However, walkthroughs that were already uploaded will remain as is.
Was this article helpful?